The Shout Magazine (New Zealand)

Hospitality’s future leaders recognised with $3000 scholarships

Image - ScholarshipsThe winners of Hospitality New Zealand/SKY Future Leader Scholarships have been announced. This is the second year the scholarships have been available. The eight scholarships have a value of up to $3000 each, and include $2000 towards fees for studying the National Diploma in Hospitality Level 5 (Operational Management), and up to $1000 reimbursement of costs to attend the Future Leaders Day in 2015.

Spokesman Bruce Robertson, Chief Executive of Hospitality New Zealand (HNZ), commented that the scholarships were an excellent example of working together with their long term partner SKY TV to help address the skill shortage within the hospitality industry.

“It’s great to see that there is this level of interest from the next generation wanting to make a career in hospitality and we are proud to be able to support their aspirations. Given the passion that all the applicants have displayed and their genuine desire to up-skill themselves, I think that we can be confident that the industry is going to be well supplied with some incredible talent and leaders to take us forward.”

The scholarship applicants represented the breadth of the hospitality industry, by currently working in Bars, Restaurants, Accommodation, Events Centres, Retail Outlets and Catering. The scholarships were open to anyone working in the hospitality industry and not restricted to HNZ members’ businesses.

The judges said that selecting the winners was a difficult process because of the consistently high quality across all of the candidates. In the end, it came down to how they scored in the four following areas:

  • Strong leadership potential in their workplace by inspiring the people around them
  • Strong progression and commitment within their hospitality career to date
  • An ability to ‘make things happen’ within a hospitality environment
  • A clear idea about what they hope to achieve and how they would contribute to the hospitality industry.

TheShout extends our congratulations to the eight 2014 Hospitality NZ/SKY Future Leader Scholarships winners:

Jessica Allen – The Dinsdale Office, Hamilton
Maria Beattie – Village Accommodation, Wellington
Paul Braithwaite – Tuakau Hotel, Waikato
Jennifer Jackson – Trinity Group, Wellington
Jackson Lindquist – No 8 Bar & Brasserie, Whitianga
Shannon Rowe – Jolly Roger Bar, Picton
Angelique Toshci – Larnach Castle, Dunedin
Michael Wood – Pullman Hotel, Auckland.

Source: Hospitality New Zealand