The Shout Magazine (New Zealand)

NZIWS 2021 trophy winners revealed

Trophies for the 2021 New Zealand International Wine Show were awarded at an industry event held in Auckland on Friday.

Twenty-four trophies were awarded for best in class wines, winemaker and wine company of the show.

After a delay of six months, judging was finally completed with the competition receiving 1780 entries.

A team of 20 senior judges awarded 265 Gold or Double Gold medals, a reflection of the excellent quality of the wines, combined with a series of top vintages.

The New Zealand International Wine Show 2021 received entries from Australia, USA, France, Spain, Italy, Portugal, Argentina, Chile Germany, and one from Georgia.

Organisers plan to hold a series of Gold medal tastings around the country, as COVID conditions permit.

Champion Wine of Show

The 2021 Trophy winners are:

Clearview Estate Reserve
Hawkes Bay Chardonnay 2020

Matt Connell – winemaker for Matt Connell Vineyard, Eight Ranges, Tiki, Three Miners and McArthur Ridge.

Trophy for Champion Pinot Gris
Askerne Pinot Gris 2021

Trophy for Champion Sauvignon Blanc
Thornbury Marlborough Sauvignon Blanc 2021

Trophy for Champion Riesling
Wairau River Estate Summer Riesling 2021

Trophy for Champion Gewürztraminer
Johanneshof Cellars Marlborough Gewürztraminer 2021

Trophy for Champion Chardonnay
Clearview Reserve Hawkes Bay Chardonnay 2020

Trophy for Champion Viognier
Dancing Petrel Reserve Viognier 2020

Trophy for Champion Other White Wine Varieties
d’Arenberg The Hermit Crab 2020, McLaren Vale

Trophy for Champion New Zealand Sparkling Wine
Lindauer Vintage Series Brut Cuvee 2017

Trophy for Champion Champagne & Methode Traditionelle
Champagne Cristian Senez Cuvee Renoir NV

Trophy for Champion Sweet Wine
Whitehaven Marlborough Noble Riesling 2021

Trophy for Champion Commercial White Wine
Delegat Crownthorpe Terraces Chardonnay 2020

Trophy for Champion Rosé
McArthur Ridge Lilico Rosé 2021

Trophy for Champion Pinot Noir
McArthur Ridge Southern Tor Pinot Noir 2020

Trophy for Champion Merlot & Predominant Blends
Trinity Hill Hawkes Bay Merlot 2020

Trophy for Champion Cabernet Sauvignon
Grant Burge Barossa Ink Cabernet Sauvignon 2020

Trophy for Champion Syrah and Predominant Blends
Mudbrick Vineyard Reserve Syrah 2020

Trophy for Champion Shiraz & Predominant blends
Grant Burge Barossa Ink Shiraz 2020

Trophy for Champion International Red Wine Varieties
Tenuta Ulisse Amaranta Montepulciano D’Abruzzo DOP 2019

Trophy for Champion New Zealand Bordeaux Red Wine
Beach House Cabernet Malbec 2020

Trophy for Champion Commercial Red Wine
Grant Burge Barossa Ink Shiraz 2020

Trophy for Champion Fortified Wine
Gonzalez Byass Nectar Pedro Ximenez

For a full list of medal winners, click here.

Did you know?

There are 6 ways you can catch up with The Shout NZ?

Our print magazine – February issue out now! Subscribe here.
Online, updated daily with its own unique content and breaking news.
Our weekly newsletter – free to your inbox! Subscribe here.
Our digital magazines – the latest issues are online now.
We are also on Facebook and Instagram!