The Shout Magazine (New Zealand)

IWSC 2023 spirits medal winners

The International Wine & Spirits Competition (IWSC) has announced the medal winners for its 2023 spirits awards.

During the first two weeks of March, 120 of the world’s leading spirit experts gathered in London to assess more than 4,000 entries from 98 countries.

Every spirit from every category was tasted and awarded a score, translating for many entries into a Gold Outstanding, Gold, Silver, or Bronze medal.

All spirits were tasted by the IWSC’s specially selected panel of industry experts, led by members of its Spirits Judging Committee: Ian Burrell, Marie Cheong Thong, Dawn Davies MW, Joel Harrison, Deano Moncrieffe, Richard Paterson OBE, David T. Smith, Shannon Tebay and Olivier Ward.

This year, 99 entries were awarded a coveted Gold Outstanding medal. In addition, 379 Gold medals were awarded, 1417 Silver and 1,512 Bronze medals.

Rum entries took home eight of this year’s Gold Outstanding medals (plus 29 Gold, 84 Silver and 164 Bronze medals) and 10 entries were awarded a Gold Outstanding from the Tequila & Mezcal categories (as well as 21 Gold, 56 Silver and 57 Bronze medals.)

Vodka was another category that put in an impressive performance. Seven of this year’s Gold Outstanding awards went to Vodka entries, as well as 19 Gold medals, 86 Silver and 64 Bronze.

To receive the IWSC’s highest accolade of a Gold Outstanding medal, drinks need to be awarded an overall score of 98 points.

Chemistry Gin

Of the 99 spirits which were awarded 98+ points, nine entries received the highest score 99 points.

This year’s top scorers included an Aquavit, Grape Brandy, Rum, Baijiu, Irish Whisky, Scotch Whisky, Armagnac and two Vodkas.

Three New Zealand spirits were awarded Gold medals this year – Broken Heart Spirits Queenstown Edition Gin, Broken Heart Spirits Navy Strength Gin, and Coromandel Distilling Company Awildian Damson Gin.

Plus, New Zealand’s newest gin – Chemistry Gin – took home a Silver Medal, just six months after launching.

The IWSC will be re-tasting all the highest scoring medal winners for the IWSC’s 2023 Spirit Trophies.

These results will be announced on 17 April, following the announcement of the results from the Cognac category judging, which is scheduled for 12 April.

For a full list of IWSC 2023 spirits medal winners, click here.

Did you know?

There are six ways you can catch up with The Shout NZ?

Our print magazine – new issue out now! Subscribe here.
Online, updated daily with its own unique content and breaking news.
Our weekly newsletter – free to your inbox! Subscribe here.
Our digital magazines – the latest issues are online now.
We are also on Facebook and Instagram!