The Shout Magazine (New Zealand)

Entries open for world’s oldest international brewing awards

Haruka Kanazawa from Ise Kadoya Brewery, Japan – one of the 2017 Award winners in the Guildhall, London. Credit: Simon Dewhurst


Brewery applications for the 2019 International Brewing Awards are now open. Established in 1886, the International Brewing Awards, often called the “Oscars” of the beer industry, is one of the most prestigious beer competitions in the world.

Believed to be the longest running international beer awards, held every two years, it is open to breweries from around the globe. Entries are uniquely peer reviewed by a carefully selected panel of recognised brewery professionals from around the world.

The awards recognise the best beers in the industry, awarding over 90 medals and trophies to winners from over 50 countries.  Recognising brewing excellence, whether from large, small, or craft, the competition is judged by an elite international panel of commercially practising brewers.

Consistently maintaining the highest standards throughout its 126 year history, the awards encourage innovation and diversity in the beer industry. Great lengths are taken to ensure the ideal judging conditions and processes are in place to ensure quality and anonymity. The awards encourage innovation and diversity and continue to further differentiate the classes by alcoholic strength.

Ruth Evans MBE, Director of Brewing Technology Services, said: “Presiding over one of the world’s most prestigious and longest running international beer awards, is a great privilege.

“We pride ourselves on maintaining high standards and the integrity of the judging, by only working with professional brewers, including head brewers, production directors and senior brewers. We will shortly be announcing an impressive line-up of judges which will once again be headed up by industry stalwart, Bill Taylor, formerly of LION.”

Commenting on the awards, Chairman of Judging, Bill Taylor, said: “These awards continue to evolve with brewing industry changes and it is my role to ensure the tradition of high professional standards continues.

“My advice to the judging panel is always to “only award those entries on which they would be prepared to stake their future success”. We are now looking forward to announcing the judging line up in the coming weeks.”

Both award entries close on 1st February 2019 with the medal winners being announced on March 8th 2019.

Follow latest updates on:


Twitter: @BrewingAwards

Did you know?

The International Brewing Awards is the longest established brewing competition in the world, having first been held in 1888. Since then, the competition is focussed upon searching out excellence and rewarding it across all styles of commercially brewed beer. The winning brands are awarded medals and trophies from the world’s most professional tasting panel, comprised exclusively of experienced commercial brewers.

The competition has evolved and developed with the global industry and has accommodated many changes in the market over its 130 year history.

Core attributes include:

  • Organised since 1888, the oldest, most international beer competition
  • Open to all types of beer
  • Structured into nine beer categories with 34 classes
  • With few classes, medals are difficult to win and therefore every win is that much more prestigious
  • Diversity and innovation as well as tradition are recognised through the alcohol strength categorisation
  • Judged only by professional brewers
  • Technical installation and stewarding are second to none


October 1st 2018

Registration for International Beer Awards 2019

January 28th 2019

Start date of product delivery into trade team

February 1st 2019

Closing date for entries

February 22nd 2019

Final Date for product delivery to trade team

March 5th 2019

Judging takes place

March 8th 2019

Medal Winners announced

May 1st 2019

Awards ceremony at Guildhall, City of London