The Shout Magazine (New Zealand)

Entries now open for the 2019 New Zealand Food Awards

The 2019 New Zealand Food Awards programme has officially begun, with the opening of entries for this year’s awards commencing on Wednesday May 1.

Each year New Zealand producers strive for the position at the top of our food and beverage industry – to be the Supreme Winner at the New Zealand Food Awards. The awards celebrate locally-made products that are focused on innovation and excellence. It is products exhibiting the highest levels of these core characteristics that will rise to the standard of finalist, making them eligible for the ultimate award.

The online entry process has been streamlined this year, making it easier for entrants to submit their products, via a new purpose-built online portal. Entries for the competition close on Friday May 31.

The awards, which have been running since 1987, are aimed at small and large food and beverage manufacturers, primary food producers, food service providers and ingredient supply companies.

Finalist and winning products will earn the New Zealand Food Awards “quality mark” to highlight the superiority of their products to both shoppers and the industry, as well as boost sales and distribution.

Last year’s winner of the New Zealand Food Awards Massey University Supreme Award was The Whole Mix Co. Limited, for the company’s vegetable noodle range. The company, owned by Marton-based Spiers Foods, also won the Massey University Health and Wellbeing Award, and the James & Wells Business Innovation Award. Finalists in 2018 included Pāmu deer milk powder, Ōra King TYEE salmon, and cultured vegan butter from Savour Ltd.

The New Zealand Food Awards are made possible thanks to principal sponsor and event organiser Massey University, and with the support of Countdown, Cuisine Magazine, James & Wells, The Intermedia Group New Zealand, Eagle Protect, FoodHQ, New Zealand Food Safety, NZTE, The FoodBowl and Z Energy.

Winners will be announced at a Gala Dinner at the SkyCity Convention Centre in Auckland on October 23.

For more information and to enter, please visit

Key dates:

  • Entries Open: Wednesday May 1
  • Entries Close: Friday May 31
  • Judging: Monday July 8 – Friday July 12
  • Finalists announced: Wednesday August 21
  • Awards Gala Dinner: Wednesday October 23

Award categories: 

  • Cuisine Artisan
  • Alcoholic Beverages
  • Non-Alcoholic Beverages
  • Grocery Foods
  • Chilled Foods
  • Frozen Foods
  • Health and Wellbeing
  • Primary Sector Products
  • Food Safety Culture
  • Business Innovation
  • Novel Food or Beverage