The Shout Magazine (New Zealand)

2014 New Zealand Beer Awards announced

rsz_ts_enewsletter_-_beer_awards_-_imageThe results of the eighth Brewers’ Guild of New Zealand Beer Awards were announced on 21 August 2014 in Wellington.  A record 670 beers from 84 breweries (74 from New Zealand) were entered into 15 categories.  Here is a list of the trophies and key awards:

Champion New Zealand Brewery: Townshend Brewery

Champion New Zealand Manufacturer: Townshend Brewery

Champion International Brewery: Boston Beer Company

European Lager Styles: Emerson’s Brewery Gladiator Bock (Gold)

International Lager Styles: Monteith’s Black (Silver)

British Ale Styles: Wigram Brewing Company Tornado Strong Ale (Gold)

Other European Ale Styles: Emerson’s Brewery JP 2014 (Gold)

US Ale Styles: ParrotDog BloodyDingo (Gold)

International Ale Styles: Panhead Custom Ales BossHog (Gold)

Stout and Porter Styles: Three Boys Brewery Oyster Stout (Gold)

Wheat and Other Grain Styles: Renaissance Brewing Black the RIPA (Silver)

Flavoured Styles (including Fruit, Spice, Herb, Honey and Smoked): Wigram Brewing Company Captain Cook Spruce Beer (Gold)

New Zealand Specific Styles: Townshend Brewery Oldhams Tap Riwaka Pilsner (Gold)

Speciality, Experimental, Aged, Barrel, Wood-Aged Styles: Panhead Custom Ales Black Sabbath (Gold)

Cider and Perry Styles: Zeffer Cider Company Slack ma Girdle Cider (Gold)

Cask Conditioned: Moa Brewery Five Hop Handpull (Gold)

Festive Brew: Behemoth Brewing Company Brave Bikkie Brown Ale (Gold)

Packaging: Tuatara Brewing Company Delicious Neck

Morton Coutts Trophy for Innovation: Steve Nally, Invercargill Brewery

Brewers Guild of New Zealand Beer Writer of the Year: Neil Miller
Neil Miller is Head of Content for TheShout.

For more information see –