The Shout Magazine (New Zealand)

New Zealand wines make a splash in global competition

Image - RieslingNine New Zealand wines won gold medals at the prestigious UK-based International Wine and Spirits Competition (IWSC). The charge was led by Two Sisters Vineyard Central Otago Riesling 2009 (winner of both The Single Vineyard White Trophy and The Jancis Robinson Trophy for Riesling) and Lansdowne Estate Wairarapa Pinot Noir 2010 (won The Bouchard Finlayson Trophy for Pinot Noir).

“Having a New Zealand Riesling win two major trophies provides international recognition that the quality of wines being made from the variety in the country is truly world class,” commented New Zealand wine writer Jo Burzynska. She was in Britain to judge the New Zealand classes at this year’s competition.

New Zealand put in a strong performance across the board. Of this year’s record breaking number of New Zealand entries to the IWSC, almost 90% received an award.

Now in its 45th year, the International Wine and Spirit Competition is one of the premier wines, spirits and liqueurs competitions of its kind in the world.

Gold medals were awarded to:

Two Sisters Vineyard Single Vineyard Central Otago Riesling 2009 (Trophies)

Lansdowne Estate Wairarapa Pinot Noir 2010 (Trophy)

Terra Sancta Shingle Beach Central Otago Pinot Noir 2012

Yealands Estate Winemaker Reserve Gibbston Valley Central Otago Pinot Noir 2013

Ribbonwood Marlborough Riesling 2013

Marisco Vineyards A Sticky End Marlborough 2011

Ara Select Blocks Marlborough Sauvignon Blanc 2012

Brancott Estate Marlborough Sauvignon Gris 2014

The Ned Noble Marlborough Sauvignon Blanc 2013